theescapewriter

Why we can’t be together now

Posted on: October 29, 2015

Fast—

Was the only way you wanted it—

Not caring what I may think.

 

You should have, though.

Should’ve listened…
When I told you to put your phone down

And rest your head in between

These two limbs

Spread out like wings in front of you.
Should’ve listened…
When I told you about that

Labyrinth-a secret place where lovers visit-

To do our trite ‘business’

Like no one was watching.
Should’ve listened…
When I sang to you

About sangria mornings

And tequila sunrises–

But you let my throat go dry…

As you cleared yours and

Told me to not make any noise

And just ride.
Should’ve listened…
When I told you it was just hormones

That pins me down

The wrong side of our bed…

When the red tide comes and

I could only flee downtown.
Should’ve listened…
When they said swapping spit

Was to make hearts flutter–

Besides making bosoms prouder

And pushing imaginary buttons.
Should’ve listened….
When I told you

Digits are to be dialled

And not be used for just plucking

This rose bud so femme

‘Til it cries for release.
Should’ve listened….
When I refused,

That time you offered me this

Vial to cure my memories-

They were such a danger to me, you see.
And you should’ve listened…
When I firmly said no.
But you remained combative–

Ripping off this little organ

In between my chest

And threw it to the hungry, pathetic dogs

With chiseled jaws

That remind me of you.
Should’ve listened to all those…
‘Because I am worth more 

Than what you want to see.

Such a big pan full of bull shit,

You little lily-livered boy,

Your mouth, 

That is.’

 

And so, this is why

We cannot be together now.
Because all I ever wanted you to do

(Even just once)
Was to just listen…

 

 

 

 

But you never did.

 

-valeriedecrepito

 

Leave a Reply

