theescapewriter

Seven Deadly Sins

Posted on: May 1, 2013

April 2013 poem

It’s not as good as I wanted it to be. In fact, it’s far from good. But this is all I could come up with.

Seven Deadly Sins

by Valerie Joy Decrepito

And I hear you whisper

“How intrepid this life is”

It’s almost as if you’re

Convincing yourself,

Willing yourself to believe

In all the lies

The gods less fair fed you.

And I saw you look back,

And turn to a disfigured pillar.

With rain pelting outside

It’s no wonder how the earth

Tastes this salty.

The musky aroma of the ground

Will serve as a memory

Of your drunken stupor

under the limelight.

And I ate my own words

When I defended your honor

And tell them all

“You have nothing.”

When you have all the things

That the finest gold piece can buy

And those that it couldn’t.

One grain could feed many

And all they needed was a flask

Was it really too much to ask?

And I thought I touched you,

In ways no physical contact could

But I was just naïve,

I did not even think

Of your natural demands.

I have long forgotten about

Your penchant for self-gratification,

In this war of the flesh

I will never be the champion.

And I smell fire

Coming from the dragon’s lair.

You told me you’d killed it, blue-eyed boy.

But have you, really?

The beast flew out, spiraling around me.

Taking revenge, it lashes its tail at me

Then I saw only black,

It could not stop me now.

Not even if it has the same cerulean eyes

As the boy I had once loved.

And I tell you watch out

For the wolf that may attack our sheep

But you never listened.

Wasted the day away,

Doing naught what I have told you.

You finally got up though

But there was all crimson.

It’s way too late now,

All I could see was

This wolf wearing a sheep’s grin.

And I hear you whisper

“How unfair this life is.”

It’s almost as if the gods

Haven’t given what befits you.

It’s almost as if the gods

Had not made all your petty lies true.

Leave a Reply

